Facebook Twitter Youtube Pintrest Google+ Linkedin Good Reads RSS
Romans 12:2
Encouragement to fulfill God's purpose through Practical Life Application and Navigation

‘Touchy Me’ – The Five Love Languages Book Review

5 love languagesHave you ever read The Five Love Languages by Dr. Gary Chapman? If not, you’re missing out. If you’ve already read it, read it again. It’s just THAT good!

Most men have uttered, or at least thought, “I wish my wife came with an owner’s manual!”

Many women have wondered why their husbands don’t understand them or have a clue how to meet their needs.

Well, ladies and gentlemen, IF you TRULY DESIRE to figure your spouse out, and are GENUINELY MOTIVATED to put a little effort in, Dr. Chapman has a surprise for you.


Legit, sensible, rational, helpful answers.


All too often we treat our spouse the way WE enjoy being treated. We spoil them with gifts WE’d like to receive and say things WE’d appreciate hearing. The problem is that while well-intentioned, this often falls short of the mark. Very, very short.

The idea is to love your spouse in the way THEY desire – In the language that speaks to THEIR heart.

Sound difficult? Confusing? Abstract?

Actually, nothing could be further from the truth.

The Five Love Languages Logo


Let me give you a ‘for instance’:

My Love Language is ‘Physical Touch’. I love having my hand held, big hugs and relaxing back rubs. The over the top feeling I get when my husband reaches over and puts his hand on my knee while he’s driving is almost inexplicable. (Yes, yes I know…. 10 and 2….but c’mon!)

My husband, on the other hand, is a ‘Quality Time’ kind of guy. Sure he likes when I talk to him or touch him, but simply sharing the same space is what matters most. If he’s washing the car, he loves me to sit outside with him. If he’s working on something in the office, he appreciates if I have something to work on in the office too. Side by side is what’s most important.

So, let’s say Lindon loves me in the way HE enjoys. He spends time where I am, making an assertive effort to be with me in the same place at the same time. He comes in the office and starts working or sits in the kitchen and reads the paper. Sounds sweet, right? NOPE!

You see he thinks he’s loving me in a big, bad way, but to me, I feel hurt and overlooked. WHY? Having him sit side by side with me but not give me a physical show of affection is more frustrating than if he just had stayed in a different room. Of course he doesn’t have to sit in the kitchen and hold my hand while he reads the newspaper (well, on second thought…. ), BUT a simple squeeze or peck on the cheek on the way in satiates my desire for physical touch and sets an entirely different tone for the moment.

I told you, Touchy Me!

Scary how simple it is to fall short and really get sideways. Frankly, though, it’s also that simple to understand what’s going on and fix it. Simple with the help of Dr. Chapman!

Lindon and I both read The Five Love Languages before we met, Date Night with Dr. Gary Chapman 2-13-2013which made it a lot easier to love each other effectively right from the start. But even still, we read it again together, sharpening our insight and polishing our love skills! We were blessed to attend a ‘Date Night event with Dr. Chapman and learn even more.

The Five Love Languages is an enjoyable read, filled with relatable, real life stories. There are questions to help you figure out which way to go and advice on what to do when you get there. And be sure to check out The Five Love Languages website. You’ll love all the information and free resources offered, including a Love Language discovery quiz. If you take Dr. Chapman’s advice to heart and apply the concepts he shares, success is almost guaranteed!

Clear, easy to understand, straight forward and MARRIAGE CHANGING, The Five Love Languages is one book you don’t want to miss!

This entry was posted in Book Review, Informational, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ‘Touchy Me’ – The Five Love Languages Book Review

  1. Carrie Daws says:

    Oh, yes! I agree completely! Reading, understanding, and putting the love languages to work can change all kinds of relationships–husbands/wives, parent/child, siblings, friends…It really is that critical. Great reminder!

    • Sherry says:

      Absolutely, Carrie, you are quite right. When you think about the possible scenarios where the Love Languages could be applied and with whom, they’re endless!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *